Energy storage: The future enabled by nanomaterials

Enjoy reading our review article about nanomaterials for energy storage – just published in Science magazine (Nov. 22 issue).  In fact, it’s a future-oriented perspective rather than a conventional literature review. View the Open Access article here.

Congratulations to Nanomaterials Alumni

Congratulations to our alum, Prof. Majid Beidaghi, on receiving the NSF CAREER award. He will be working on understanding the fundamentals of Al ions intercalation into MXenes.
We would also like to congratulate Prof. Michael Naguib on being named the Ken & Ruth Early Career Professor at Tulane (an early career endowment professorship at Tulane).
Congratulations to our alumni on their great successes!

Citation Laureate 2019

Prof. Yury Gogotsi was named a 2019 Citation Laureate in Physics by Web of Science. View the list here:

Clarivate 2019 Highly Cited Researchers

The 2019  list of Highly Cited researchers has been published by Clarivate and 4 members of Drexel’s College of Engineering have been recognized  with this distinction. 
Read the full College of Engineering Press Release here.  

DuPont GOLD Research Competition

Congratulations to PhD Candidate, Christine Hatter, who won second place in the DuPont GOLD Research Competition after being selected from a field of 90+ applicants. Christine investigates transferring the mechanical and electrical properties of MXene to epoxy and thermoplastic composite systems.

Congratulations to Christine!


NanoArtography 2019

Congratulations to the 2019 NanoArtography winners from our team:

Second Place – Emma Ward, University of Brighton/Drexel University – “2D Liquid Crystalline World”
Second Place – Ariana Levitt, Drexel University – “Fiber Knot”
Third Place – Kanit Hantanasirisakul, Drexel University – “Starry night with PMMA ghost”

The winning images will be included in our annual DNI calendar, coming soon.

MRS Nelson ‘Buck’ Robinson Science and Technology Award for Renewable Energy

PhD alumna Kelsey Hatzell, who is currently Assistant Professor at Vanderbilt University, has won the MRS Nelson ‘Buck’ Robinson Science and Technology Award for Renewable Energy.
The MRS Nelson “Buck” Robinson Award recognizes a young professional through five years following the highest degree attained for the development of novel sustainable solutions for the realization of renewable sources of energy.  The award consists of a $5,000 honorarium, MRS meeting registration fee and travel expenses to attend the Materials Research Society Fall Meeting in Boston, at which the award is presented.
Congratulations to Kelsey!