Tyler Mathis Wins a SCGSR Award

Congratulations to PhD student, Tyler Mathis, for winning a U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science Graduate Student Research (SCGSR) award to spend 6 months conducting research at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL). Tyler will work in the lab of Dr. Nina Wisinger, working on “Mechanisms of reversible electrochemical reactions and ion transport in two-dimensional materials with nanoconfined fluids”.

Simge Wins Innovator of the Month Award

Congratulations to PhD student, Simge Uzen, who has been awarded the Innovator of the Month Award by her summer internship host, HP. This honor is given for her work. Every HP they choose someone within the chemists/scientists/engineers at HP, who has been demonstrated innovative research.
Congratulations to Simge!

Prof. Kelsey Hatzell wins ECS-Toyota Fellowship

Congratulations to our alumna Prof. Kelsey Hatzell on winning an ECS-Toyota Fellowship:
Kelsey earned a PhD in 2015, supported by NSF GRFP. Prior to joining Vanderbilt, she was an ITRI-Rosenfeld Postdoctoral Fellow at Berkeley Lab. Since joining Vanderbilt, she has won the ORAU Powe Junior Faculty Award (2017), SCIALOG Fellow in energy storage by the Research Corporation for Scientific Advancement (2017 & 2018), and an NSF CAREER Award (2019). Her research group works on transport in energy storage systems.
Congratulations to Kelsey!