Archives by date

You are browsing the site archives by date.

Xuehang Wins Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Students Self-financed Abroad

Xuehang Wins Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Students Self-financed Abroad

Congratulations to postdoctoral researcher, Dr. Xuehang Wang, who has been awarded the ‘Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Students Self-financed Abroad,’ an award set up by the China Scholarship Council to honor overseas Chinese students with outstanding academic accomplishments. Established in 2003, this award is developed to encourage research excellence and to recognize the achievements among Chinese students abroad. This award includes a 6,000-USD prize and a CSC-issued certificate.

Congratulations to Xuehang!


ORAU Awards to NMG Alum

ORAU has awarded competitive research grants totaling $185,000 to 37 junior faculty from its member institutions. The recipients, each of whom is in the first two years of a tenure track position, will receive $5,000 in “seed money” for the 2017-2018 academic year to enhance their research during the early stages of their career.

Of these 37 awardees, 5% are Nanomaterials Group alumni.  Congratulations to Prof. Kelsey Hatzell and Prof. Majid Beidaghi!

View the full list here.

Commencement 2017

Commencement 2017

Congratulations to all Drexel graduates, especially NMG graduates Katie Van Aken, PhD., Wendy Thurman, MS, and Jay Shah, MS. See below some photos from the ceremony.


Prof. Yury Gogotsi will present about science and its role in shaping the future at the Brain&Ukraine meeting on June 7th at 7pm in Kiev, Ukraine.  Learn more here.

Alumnus Wins Carbon Journal Prize

Congratulations to alumnus Dr. Boris Dyatkin winning the very prestigious international Carbon Journal Prize, given for the best PhD dissertation on carbon. The selection is done worldwide!
Boris is the third alum form our group winning it (Ranjan Dash and Sebastian Osswald are past recipients).